Length of Stock/Raiser blocks

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

Jon E

Length of Stock/Raiser blocks

Post by Jon E »

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to small bore rifle and have been searching various sites for info. I found some interesting posts concerning the correct length of the rifle stock and was wondering where exactly do you take the measurment from? i.e: is it rear of pistol grip to butt-plate or trigger to butt-plate? Also what advantages (if any) are there to sight riser blocks?

Thanks in advance for any replies and, congratulations to all on a most informative site!!!

Jon Endacott, Switzerland.
Atlanta Guest

Length of Pull

Post by Atlanta Guest »

Jon,

The common measurement is from trigger to butt plate. I have mostly Junior Shooters (5'5" is tall in my group) so we see Length of pull in the 7.75" (20.5 cm / I think, metric is not my strong suit) range.

Riser blocks are for people with long necks, or that need to "cant" the rifle for proper head position.

Roy McClain
Vice President
Georgia Sport Shooting Association
(678) 772-8185 cell

"If your plan is for one year, plant rice.
If your plan is for ten years, plant trees.
If your plan is for one hundred years,
educate children." -- Confucius
wrc

Post by wrc »

Re: riser blocks -

Not necessarily for long necks! The blocks allow a comfortable heads-up position in standing (especially) and kneeling. I'd suggest blocks for nearly everybody.
Curt

Post by Curt »

a lot of people gave me crap when i wanted to use riser blocks on the rifle i had previously been using. they said that it increases the angle of the sights and blah blah blah. but it mad eit more comfortable on that rifle and i shot much better w/ them

its pretty much on an individual basis on whether or not your gonna need them. if you are shooting fine w/o them, you probably shouldnt put them on.