Could it be my sights?

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

Curt

Could it be my sights?

Post by Curt »

Hi,

I have been shooting for a little over a year, mostly on a high school team. I had gotten my scores in the 98-99 range by the end of last year. I shot weekly in the offseason, but when the summer came, the program that I had been shooting in was cut off for three months. In that time, i purchased a rifle of my own.

A program finally opened up and I have been shooting weekly for almost two months. This week, the school season started again, and I have noticed that my scores are very erratic. I'll shoot a score in the high 90's, then one in the mid, and some which i don't wish to mention.

I feel as confident as ever in my shooting, and my postion is the tightest and most confortable I have ever gotten it. The only thing that I could think that would be hurting my scores is my sights losing the zero.

The sights are the old FWB sights w/ an Anschutz adjustable iris. We all know that the older FWB sights are nothing to brag about, but I never thought that they would actually hurt my scores. It seems like once I get them dialed in, I shoot several X's, then I will shoot consistantly elsewhere (i.e. 3 shots in a row that are 9's at 8 o'clock).

Is it possible that my sights are causing this? And if so, what sights would you recommend for a high school student on a budget?

Thanks,
Curt
1813benny

sights

Post by 1813benny »

Curt,
The easiest way to check the sights is to borrow another set, such as those from an Anschutz and give it a try to see if there is a difference. Also remember to check your front sight and also the aperature inside of the front sight.