Gamo Compact windage adjustment

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
Steevyg

Gamo Compact windage adjustment

Post by Steevyg »

Hey everyone, I’ve been shooting my Gamo Compact for 4 months now, and I’m making good progress at 10m. Question: does anyone know how much movement at the target, one click of windage will make? Cheers.
brent375hh

Re: Gamo Compact windage adjustment

Post by brent375hh »

If you have a caliper, you can see how much it moves in 10 clicks to get a per click value. If you don't have a caliper, perhaps a feeler guage could work. If you have neither, you could measure across the whole range of windage using your best scale, and count the clicks.

Then measure your sight radius. If your sight radius is say 300mm and your shooting distance is 10 meters. 10,000/300=30.
If your click moves .1mm you would get 3mm impact change on the target. Plug in the values that you measure.

Not every gun has the same value for windage and elevation.
Steevyg

Post by Steevyg »

Thanks Brent, that’s a comprehensive and helpful reply. Would I need to fix the gun in a vice to do this, do you think?
brent375hh

Post by brent375hh »

No real need for a vise, as long as you can measure a fixed portion of the sight vs the moving blade.
Steevyg

Post by Steevyg »

Thanks Brent.
brent375hh

Post by brent375hh »

Another option would be to shoot a group from a rest, then move the sight all the way to it's stop, counting the clicks. Shoot another group. Find the centers between the two groups and divide by the number of clicks. Then return the sight to it original setting.

This is all assuming it is not listed in your manual😊
Steevyg