How to use a sling

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

Brazos

How to use a sling

Post by Brazos »

Are there any good videos (like YouTube) that shows how to properly use a sling? My daughter has just started her first year on her HS rifle team and is using a sling for 3 position. I just want to learn how the sling is supposed to work, how to adjust, etc. as I have no experience with the type of sling that connects to the shooting jacket & the rifle at a single point. I have done searches but all the sling videos are for tactile stuff. I really don't need to know how to use the sling on my M16 to take out ISIS or the Taliban. I just want to know enough to make sure my daughter is using her sling correctly on her air rifle. Thanks.
spektr

Re: How to use a sling

Post by spektr »

Having a copy of "WAY OF THE RIFLE" answers so many questions
Pat McCoy

Post by Pat McCoy »

See the articles under "smallbore and Air Rifle" on this site: http://thecmp.org/training-tech/coaching-resources/
Tim S

Post by Tim S »

I'd say some basic pointers should include:
1) The sling doesn't pinch the arm
2) It pulls the butt firmly into the shoulder for stability, but doesn't push the shoulder back.

For 1), you're looking at the position of the cuff/loop on the upper arm, trying to avoid the brachial artery and nerve plexus below the arm pit, but also the biceps. Use the keeper on the jacket to hold the sling up at the right height - don't be afraid to punch new holes in the keeper if needed. Tightening the cuff/loop around the arm has an effect here, and I like to leave several finger's room inside the cuff.

The position of the sling over the wrist and hand can matter to some shooters. In general, avoiding the wrist knuckle and the palm if you can.