Beginner needs help...

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

jhd26

Beginner needs help...

Post by jhd26 »

I am a new member and a total beginner. My new KK300 anatomic is coming tomorrow. I have to admit I know little about smallbore shooting and even less about my new rifle. It is Father’s Day gift. I really need your expert advice.

I live in Central Ohio. My current club is all about handguns and traps shooting. Their rifle range is only 25 yards. I went to Cardinal shooting center today to check out their rifle range. It is not ready yet.

Can anyone recommend a smallbore shooting range in Central Ohio? More urgent: any coach in the area I can turn to for some basic training and even get my rifle set up correctly? I got most of the gear when purchasing my rifle except a jacket which I plan to purchase July 4 weekend during ASSA Nationals. I hope there are vendor booths there. Before Cardinal is ready, how should I practice on a 25 yard range? Can I shoot smaller target?

Any information is greatly appreciated.
Tim S

Re: Beginner needs help...

Post by Tim S »

Welcome, and that:s some father's day gift!

25 yards isn't a common competition distance in the US. Your indoor/gallery norm is 50ft. That doesn't mean that you can't practise at 25 yards, and compete at other ranges. You will need to use a target that's sized for the distance, otherwise your sight picture/foresight aperture will be out of whack elsewhere.

25 yards is the norm for indoor shooting in the UK, so it can be done. For starters a 2in diameter black circle works for grouping and rough sight adjustment. Scoring rings can come later. The British 25 yard target is scaled down from the ISSF/Olympic 50m, so similar in size to US-NRA conventional targets, perhaps a little wider.

Are you shooting Prone only or 3-P? You can guides to setting up the rifle for Prone here:

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=58327&p=280995#p280995

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=46399
jhd26

Post by jhd26 »