KK500

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

Moore

KK500

Post by Moore »

I'm too old to be buying a $5000 position rifle,, but I'm fixing to order one.. Something to do in the winters indoors.... Anything I should know about this Rifle that Joe V hasn't already told me? Ordering Monday Morning.
Cumbrian

Re: KK500

Post by Cumbrian »

No one else has replied, so, out of courtesy, I will, even though I must admit that I have no direct experience of this rifle.

The KK500 has attracted excellent reviews, to the extent that I have been tempted myself, despite knowing that at my age and level of skill it would probably not improve my scores all that much. It is clearly more advanced as a design than the Anschutz 54.30. And I have seen very, very few second-hand examples for sale, which must tell you something. I would expect that you will be very pleased with your purchase.

Have you, however, weighed up carefully whether you want the wooden stock or the aluminium? Perhaps some else could advise on their respective merits?
wytek

Post by wytek »

Go for it. I’m in the same position thinking the same thing. I’d be very interested in how it works out.
bdutton

Post by bdutton »

I worked with a Junior that had a new KK500 and we were setting up her position with risers and was annoyed to learn that the original posts for the cheekpiece were too short had to have taller ones ordered to match the sight risers. $$$ IMO Walther should include the longer posts rather than force people to buy additional ones.

Other than that its a great rifle.

I personally prefer the Anschutz 54.30 in the 1918 precise stock.
jhmartin

Post by jhmartin »

I have 3 shooters I work with that have KK-500's. They are very adaptable to very different body types due to all the adjustments you can make to the stock. For me fitting the stock around the woman is pretty easy with this gun.