Printable Targets?

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

CrossFaced

Printable Targets?

Post by CrossFaced »

Hi..total been here. I did my best to search for Small Bore targets but I really don't know precisely what I'm looking for so my search came up with way too many hits to be helpful.

Please keep in mind I'm new at this.

I believe from what I have read, for competition there is a standard Small Bore Rifle Target. It's a small target with 10 rings.

Is this correct? And can I print them off the internet?

Thanks for your patience.
Tim S

Re: Printable Targets?

Post by Tim S »

In theory, yes you can print targets, although you may struggle to find the correct version as copyright may apply.

In practise, printing may not work particularly well. Commercially produced targets are printed on very thick paper, in which bullets leave a neat hole (some brands create a neater hole than others). Normal printer paper is too thin, and bullets will tear a ragged hole, which makes it difficult to score the target. Printer paper is also rather shiny, which wont help your aim; commercially made targets are matt finish and less reflective.

Depending on where you are, and what matches you want to shoot, you may find there are several different targets. Here in the UK, our governing body the National Smallbore Rifle association produces targets for 15 yards, 20, yards, 25, yards, 50 yards, 50m, and 100 yards; all are different sizes, but scaled up/down from the International/Olympic 50m target. In the US, the US-NRA produce their own series of targets which are different in size (the actual target and the scoring rings) to British and International.
CrossFaced

Post by CrossFaced »

Great info ....Thanks Tim!
BigAl

Post by BigAl »