Comments wanted for AP20 PRO versus LP400

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
Curlyjim

Comments wanted for AP20 PRO versus LP400

Post by Curlyjim »

Hello everybody. I've been reading this forum for a while now, but just joined and this is my first post. I've been shooting 10m AP informally for a few years with an IZH 46M. There aren't many AP shooters around where I live (SW Utah), so there have been only a few local matches. I had a shop built on my house last spring, so I now have an indoor place to practice year round. Anyway, I'm looking to upgrade to a better pistol and would like to solicit comments in that regard.

The IZH is the only AP I've shot so I have no first hand knowledge of high end match pistols. I don't know anyone who has one either. For that reason, I'm not considering buying a used pistol. I think the high end pistols are beautiful machines, but my shooting future is most likely going to be mostly personal satisfaction and some local club matches. I don't think I can justify $1700 or more for my caliber of shooting. I already have a Hill pump, so I'm not particularly interested in a CO2 gun.

I found some information (some on this forum) on the Haemmerli AP20 and then the AP20 PRO. Grip adjustability and fit, and good balance are two of my main concerns and the PRO seems like it might be just about right for me because it has the 3D adjustable grip and the longer air cylinder with gauge. I've also flirted with the idea of getting a Walther LP400, but they cost 50% more than an AP20 PRO.