Free pistol advice

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
markwarren

Free pistol advice

Post by markwarren »

Hi,

Probably opening myself open to all sorts of ridicule but here goes anyway.

I am just getting in to free pistol and thought about training using SK Pistol ammunition but then shoot matches using Eley Match Pistol. The cost of the Eley could turn out to be prohibitive (I have 2 kids who also shoot!!).

Do I just stick to the SK which is nearly half the price of the Eley.

As I said, I'm just starting out so my scores probably don't warrant the Eley yet.

Cheers

Mark
Rover

Re: Free pistol advice

Post by Rover »

Nah, just go with cheap CCI Standard Velocity. Your scores won't change a bit, except that you won't cringe at the price when your gun goes "Bang!"
markwarren

Post by markwarren »

Thanks for the reply Rover.

I have to say I have noticed the pistol specific ammunition give less recoil and my groups are tighter. The prices in the UK are as follows:

CCI Standard £72.00/1000
SK Pistol £82.00/1000
Eley Match Pistol £140.00/1000

So probably the pistol specific SK is the way to go.

All the best

Mark
gwsb

Post by gwsb »

Mark I am a rifle shooter but I have to say we all open ourselves to ridicule every time we step on a range, no matter what the skill level. Also in a rifle I would stay away from CCI and stick with cheap Eley or SK.
micken

Post by micken »

Hi Mark, I was shooting some CCI through a friend's semi-auto rifle the other week. Grouping was generally OK but got a flier that surprised me. I've got some SK but not tried it yet, will let you know my thoughts.