New to Smallbore

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

StenoShooter

New to Smallbore

Post by StenoShooter »

Hello all,

I'm looking to explore smallbore as a hobby, and I've done months of research and playing with the idea of buying a quality smallbore rifle to get started. I considered just renting from a local club--but I can't find any local smallbore clubs where I'm at (Clarksville, TN).

I've settled on a used, Anschutz 1903. My reasoning is that it would be most of the quality without the customizable/adjustable (read: things that could go wrong) features that the higher 1907/1913 rifles offer.

I'd love to get everyone's input on what my selection should be.

I'm in the Army, so I'm not a complete novice to shooting, but my experience has primarily been on the M4 carbine... which, I take it, is a little different from a smallbore rifle. :)
Thedrifter

Post by Thedrifter »

First Off, WELCOME to the site.

I do not suggest purchasing a 1903 Anschutz.
I say this only because once you are started, your going to be hooked. and eventually you will desire a more adjustable and more accurate rifle. might as well start with a better quality and work up to it, I'm not saying new, just better. the 1903 is too light in my opinion for a full grown adult. the round action 54 Anschutz rifles are a very good first choice. i went with an older Feinwerkbau 2602.

Coming from an Air Force guy (and this hurts to admit) you may look into seeing if the AMU (Army Marksmanship Unit) could offer and advice. they are top notch shooters and frankly some of the best in the world train there on a regular basis, they have decades of experience. their web-sight as a contact section where you could get better guidance getting started.
http://www.usaac.army.mil/amu/index.asp

USA Shooting does not list anything in Tennessee for rifle, however Lexington, Kentucky seems to have an active club. might look into that. doesnt sound like a bad drive.