LOP and wrist pain

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

Gru

LOP and wrist pain

Post by Gru »

Hey guys,

I've been shooting a lot of 50m prone lately and have been trying to set up my new rifle. It is more front heavy that my previous gun, which I like, but I think that is causing my problem. I've been working at it for several months but no matter what I do I am getting pain in my wrist/forearm. It almost feels as if I am over stretching my forearm muscles. Starts out with sharp, aching pain and eventually turns into a kind of numbness in my fingers. Needless to say, my scores are suffering from this. I recently tried folding a piece of cardboard up to create a temporary "spacer" to fit between my glove and the stock in an attempt to increase the stock depth and rotate the center of gravity a little closer to my support hand. It has helped some but I still get the pain, it is just delayed though as it takes longer to set in. Any suggestions on what else I can do? I have run out of ideas.

I don't want to add weight to the back since the rifle is fairly heavy already for the 3-p matches that I shoot in the winter leagues.

Also curious what your thoughts are on length of pull in prone. I have heard that it should be shorter than usual to bring the rear sight closer to the eye.

Sorry for the long post.
RobStubbs

Post by RobStubbs »

Wrist and forearm pain like that suggest to me your arm is not straight and that the wrist joint is therefore strained. I'd suggest you post up some pictures of you in position for our resident experts to comment on.

Rob.
Tim S

Post by Tim S »

Gru,

what rifle are you shooting, and were you set up by a qualified coach/experienced shooter or just by yourself?

As Rob suggested, photos can help.