Looking for recommendations for my first Free Pistol

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
lakesidemn

Looking for recommendations for my first Free Pistol

Post by lakesidemn »

I have not shot Free Pistol before and need some expert advise! I have shot Bullseye for a few years and enjoy my Benelli MP90S. I think the "cant" on many of the free pistols are similar to the Benelli, so if that helps I might narrow some choices?

Any recommendations would be appreciated. There are a few TOZ 35M's on Gunbroker right now.

Thanks!
SamEEE

Post by SamEEE »

First of all i'm no expert but I can tell you that the TOZ is a well made firearm. I compete with one and its alright, although the grip doesn't fit me really. Excellent trigger and rugged construction.

At the top level it seems that it is roughly a 60/40 split between the Morini 84E and the TOZ-35.

The Morini uses a weird 15V battery - but they seem very competitive. Gaining traction down here in NZ as a top free pistol. It is certainly the more expensive option - and I wouldn't bother with the 90 or 220 euro compensator, just something more to clean.

Honourable mention goes to the Pardini: Earlier in the year I had the pleasure of shooting a Pardini FPM - it was nicely made, light and pointed well, although the knuckle joint of the bolt was kind of weird to manipulate and I bet the compensator would be a bastard to clean out.

TL;DR - Pretty hard to go wrong with a TOZ. Stock standard they shoot well - can be upgraded in a number of different ways.
conradin

Post by conradin »