rifle to start shooting long range

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

aaneetha

rifle to start shooting long range

Post by aaneetha »

What is a good beginner rifle to start shooting long range? I asked this question earlier, but worded it differently, and all I got was hate on it. I shoot at 100 yards now, but i would like to step it up. However, all i own are .22's and 2 ww2 rifles. I have been shooting for 2 years now, and I feel i am ready to step up from a .22 and get a .223 or a .308. which would you recommend?
Last edited by aaneetha on Fri Aug 16, 2013 2:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
justadude

Post by justadude »

H'mmm I've been at it over 40 years and still prefer the 22 LR over others. It is not a question of "stepping up" but of what you prefer.

As for 223 vs 308, what do you consider long range? Out to 300 yards, take the 223 it is cheaper to shoot and less punishing. 600 yards might be on the long side for 223 but you can do it. Out at 1000 yards you really want the 308.

'Dude
Shifty

Post by Shifty »

As 'Dude said - It boils down to what range you want to shoot, but also price. If it's 1000 yards you want to be shooting, you're not only going to need something in at least .308 caliber, but a rifle with a long enough barrel to accurately push the bullet that far. If hand loading is an option, the 7mm bullet heads have a very good ballistic coefficient, which makes it great for longer ranges as it's less susceptible to buffeting by the wind. The 7mm Rem Mag is a accurate long range round, but again, it's not the cheapest round to shoot by a long way.
svensta

Post by svensta »

When you are shooting out to long distance often you see people "build" a rifle
with a barrel/action/stock from a preferred vendor. Nice to do but it's also time and money.

You could make life simple and buy something like a Savage Palma 12 in .308
for the price it's not bad.
corning

Post by corning »