Model 41 chamber marks? (pics included)

Brought to you by Zero Bullet Company Inc.

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, Isabel1130

adair

Model 41 chamber marks? (pics included)

Post by adair »

I recently noticed a mark from the firing pin on the face of the chamber of my S&W Model 41. I purchased it new and have put a few thousand rounds through it. I have never dry-fired it (except for perhaps once or twice).

I tried to take a few pictures of it and they can be found here: http://imgur.com/a/5ALHV Click on a picture to zoom in.

So my question is, is this normal? I'm still fairly new to this and just not sure if this is normal or not.

Thanks in advance.
Rover

Post by Rover »

I've dry-fired my 41 thousands of times, but no sign of what you're showing.

If it deforms the chamber lip a bit you can file off the metal protruding into the chamber with not much fuss.
adair

Post by adair »

Thanks, Rover. Do you think it's anything to be worried about or worth calling S&W over?
Isabel1130

Post by Isabel1130 »

adair wrote:Thanks, Rover. Do you think it's anything to be worried about or worth calling S&W over?
I am not saying that this is a good thing, but a light peening like this on the chamber is better than a too short firing pin causing light hits, and a lot of failure to go bang during a match.
I peened the heck out of the chamber on my Marvel before finally figuring out that the firing pin was broken. When I sent it into the gunsmith who built it for me, he just did what Rover suggested, which was file the metal off where the peening had caused metal to extend into the barrel, (and replaced the firing pin).
All I am saying here, if the S&W gunsmith's solution to your issue, was to shorten the firing pin, it might hamper the functioning of the gun.
There is a very fine line between a good firing pin strike, and peening the edge of the chamber. If the error goes the other way, you have more issues.
waxman

Post by waxman »