noobie questions

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
tigerdoc

noobie questions

Post by tigerdoc »

I am relatively new to the sport of air pistol. I have been shooting for about 8 months. I have a couple questions and would appreciate the input of you folks who have been playing this game longer than I.

I have a cheap trainer model pistol. I would like to upgrade, but don't have the funds at this point to go "top notch". Would it be better to get something cheaper (like an IZH46) or wait until I save enough pennies to get one of the better guns? My concern with waiting is that I think I am developing some bad habits with the pistol I use now.

Any suggestions on a mid range pistol?

I have read on other threads that the only way to decide on "the" gun is to try different models. How do you do that? It isn't like buying a car where you go to the dealer and drive what you want. Is there a place to rent/borrow different pistols so you can try them out?

How does one go about finding a coach? I live in an area that isn't exactly a hotbead of air pistol activity. I'm still at the level that I don't really want to spend a great deal of money until I see if I have the aptitude and desire, but I also realize that I need help if I'm going to get any better. Any books or videos that you have found useful?

Any training exercises that have been helpful?

Thanks for your input.
Rover

Post by Rover »

For the price of an IZH, you can get a used top of the line CO2 gun. You will give up nothing to the new PCP guns, many of which are the same.

Do a search (see top of page) and your questions will be answered.
Russ

Post by Russ »