To Slug OR not to Slug, that is my question...

Brought to you by Zero Bullet Company Inc.

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, Isabel1130

BAMO

To Slug OR not to Slug, that is my question...

Post by BAMO »

I've been reloading for about 8 months now and have only reloaded for my .308 and .30-06 service rifles and buy .308 dia. bullets for my reloading.

I want to start handloading .45 cal. LSWC bullets for my Springfiled 1911-A1 and for my Kimber Gold Match II (both of which are less than a year old if that makes any difference) so I can shoot lead wadcutters in my gun club's weekly Bullseye matches instead of using jacketed round nose bullets. I was going to buy the .452" diameter 200 gr. LSWC since that's what the SAAMI mechanical drawing shows for the .45 auto cartridge in both my Hornady and Speer reloading manuals. HOWEVER, I just noticed that the 200 gr. LSWC bullets sold by Dardas comes not only in .452", but also comes in .453" and .454" diameter, so I figure this isn't going to be as simple as reloading .308 bullets into .308 Win and 30-06 Spg cartridges.

I've heard about slugging barrels but don't really know how you go about it or how you meausure the results or figure out what size bullet you should get. THEREFORE, my question to you all is how important (or unimportant) is it going to be for me to slug the barrels of these two M1911 45 auto's, and if it is important how do you slug the barrel, and how do you meausre the slug and figure out what size bullet you need?

Thanks for your help!
Rover

Post by Rover »

Since the bore is nominally .451 and the bullet is (nominally) .452, and you like lead bullets to be one or two thousandth oversize you're good to go.

Fuhgeddaboudit!
oldcaster

Post by oldcaster »