Clean holes?

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
hammerheadarcher

Clean holes?

Post by hammerheadarcher »

Hello everyone! As you can see, I'm new to this sport. I have been a pretty competitive archer for the last several years. I blew out my bow shoulder at the end of November as I was preparing for my first money tournament which would have been in Vegas in Feb. Rather than go insane without shooting 3 hours per day I decided to pick up an pistol. Ill have a few questions im sure but the first one is, how do you get a clean hole in the target. I am using WC's at a regulation 10m pistol target and 90% of the wholes I make are tears. What am I doing wrong? I have mounted the target firmly agains a foam board, mounted it to a frame around the perimeter and hung it from a clip. No difference. Never had this problem with my 22. Thanks for any help and stay tuned as the stupid questions begin.
deadeyedick

Post by deadeyedick »

Sounds like your AP is not pushing the pellet at a fast enough rate, or the target is slightly damp from humid weather.
What make of Air Pistol are you using ?
SMBeyer

Post by SMBeyer »

Sounds like a combination of low velocity and poor targets. I haven't found any good 4 bull targets. National and American both tear badly if your velocity is low. Try some Edelman's, I know they are more expensive but you can shoot more shots on them and the cut incredibly clean holes. You can order them right here from pilkguns.
Scott
Rover

Post by Rover »

That's right! Buy a $2500 air pistol and imported European targets and you won't have this problem.

Actually, it sounds like a combination of both items mentioned above.