recommend a 22lr pistol for a beginner

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
tuj

recommend a 22lr pistol for a beginner

Post by tuj »

Hi all, first post here. I am a relative novice shooter and certainly a novice to off-hand pistol. While I'm not looking to enter competition at this point, or perhaps ever, I really enjoy shooting for accuracy and precision. I'm looking for a good target pistol in 22lr that will serve me well as I develop my skills. I'm not really interested in eventually owning 2 or 3 22LR pistols, I'd rather have one good one and not have to upgrade in a year or two. That said, I'd like to keep it under $1000 when its all said and done. I recognize that the top target pistols are well north of that mark, so obviously they are out of contention for me.

I've considered some of the more 'pedestrian' choices like a buckmark or a mkii/iii. Obviously both of those are good pistols, and accurate enough for a novice, but they also each need some work to shoot their best. I've also thought about an Izh35m, but they are pretty difficult to find. Finally, I've also considered the Benelli's the mp95e, and maybe I could stretch to get a mp90s.

So what would you recommend for a novice pistol shooter who's not necessarily going into competition, but also wants to have quality equipment? Basically if my groups are poor, I want to know that its *me* and not my equipment that's the cause. What to you all think?
customs954

First .22

Post by customs954 »