Youth Rifle Suggestions

Hints and how to’s for coaches and junior shooters of all categories

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963

montster

Youth Rifle Suggestions

Post by montster »

I am taking over boy scout merit badge shooting for a troop. We do 2 or more shooting activities a year and we also move the boys up through the NRA markmanship program.

What I need is suggestions for youth rifles with aperture sights. I am using my own budget to buy 2-4 rifles. We don't qualify under CMP so we can't take advantage of the Savage deal. I am an NRA instructor but I don't see anything other offers for youth that has aperture sights. Staying with sporter class is preferred.

Any advice in looking for youth rifles with aperture sights with good prices?

Thanks in advance.
Last edited by montster on Thu Dec 03, 2009 3:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
sakoarms

Post by sakoarms »

The Savage deal through CMP is a great deal. Why don't you join a on-line club that is affiliated with CMP and then buy the rifles? I am sure there are several clubs out there, but this one I know has the CMP affiliation. http://www.thegca.org/images/GCAMemApp.pdf.pdf
montster

Membership

Post by montster »

I am a member of a group. However the details mention teams etc. I might go ahead and see if the CMP will send me certificates.

Thanks
PL177

Post by PL177 »

Any Boy Scout group is, I believe, a defacto member of CMP. There is a Memo of Understanding (MOU) for BSA National covering all units. We are a Venture Crew Jr Rifle Club, and we do not have to pay the annual fee or submit annual paperwork. Please check with the CMP, it would be a good deal for your unit.
PL

Post by PL »