Front Hand

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

Misny

Front Hand

Post by Misny »

I am a newbie with the air rifle. I noticed that most good shooters rest the forend of the rifle on their knuckles. I tried that and the rifle is too high. I also found it to be unsteady and uncomfortable. I rest the gun on my palm. Am I making a big mistake by not resting the forend on my knuckles?
WarWagon

Post by WarWagon »

There are a million ways to skin a cat, and about twice as many ways to hold an air rifle. If you're too high with a fist, work with whatever's comfortable and gives positive results.
methosb

Post by methosb »

Resting on your palm is fine. You can have your hand any way that you like as long as you make sure you are consistent and the position is not forced (ie. causing muscle tension that could make you throw shots). Shooting off the palm is actually quite common (especially in smallbore standing where the limits for the palm rest are a lot more relaxed so it is easier to get the rifle high enough off the palm) even though off the fist is more common in air rifle.
Soupy44

Post by Soupy44 »

I just switched to shooting with a palm rather than a fist myself and I'd been using a fist since I began shooting. I REALLY like it so far. I switched because my standing had not really improved in 3 years and something needed to change, so this might just be mental for me. Just make sure you are supporting the rifle with the meaty parts of you hand (palm or the area between your thumb and pointer finger), not with your fingers.

On a side note, I found it interesting that a lot of coaches are encouraging the you use the palm rather than a fist now, but in the Olympics, almost 3/4 of the shooters in the finals were using a fist.
Misny

Post by Misny »