The 'Distraction Bull'

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
edster99

The 'Distraction Bull'

Post by edster99 »

OK, so now i think i understand what that means. Like, it stops you concentrating on your sights and trigger control by sneaking your attention away from them. So how do I ensure it doesnt distract me? Anything other than the standard dry fire with it there and 'ingrain ignoring it by concentrating on sights and trigger?'
higginsdj

Post by higginsdj »

As a novice I made myself a sighting 'tool' - a piece of stick with a front sight and rear sight and a handle to grip. I then set up a target face (or just a blank bit of wall) and then just bring the 'tool' up to the sight line and just practise focusing on the front sight. (I can't own a pistol for another 5 months - hence the 'tool')

If you have a target to aim at then my coach/mentor gave me a nice 'affirmation' to practise. 'Settle...Settle....Settle....' the point being that I am concentrating on that front sight and then settling the arm/pistol unit into a steady, near motionless hold during which time increasing pressure is applied to the trigger. At this point you will note that I haven't mentioned the target. I'll worry about that later as the one thing I have realised (at least at my stage of development) the target is unimportant. If my technique is good, the the bullet is going to hit where I aim and my aim is only as good as my sight picture and arm steadiness so concentrating in the target doesn't actually help at all. ie I found that I could hold my aim near perfectly on the target bull at 10m and still not be able to hit the target....