Finally broke 530 !

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Finally broke 530 !

Post by Guest »

I started shooting 10m air pistol in March this year. I had never shot any pistol or rifle before. I don't have a coach, just read tid bits of very helpful information from every one here.

I am 45, and since March, my score had improved from 360's to 420's to 470's to 490's to 510's.

Score hovered around 510's for the past two months, and today finally broke 530's.

What would be my expected improvement in scoring by same time next year? I would be interested in your personal starting experience during your first two years of shooting.
jacques b gros

Post by jacques b gros »

Congratulations! Good improvement rate.

Now, register into the forum and read whatever technical stuff you can. A lot is in the 10P files, but keep looking.

Join a club, find a trainning mate, if not a coach. The time spent reinventing the wheel can be spent trainning.

I'm getting back into the sport after 20 yrs out, and forgot a lot of the basic. So I can shoot six consecutive, well grouped X and a 6 in the seventh shot. The routine is not back.

Have fun.
Oz

Post by Oz »

That's great! Congrats, that is an accomplishment. Join USA Shooting, go to a few matches and get ranked :)

Unfortunately, I don't have much perspective. I can tell you that I had a conversation with one of the top AP guys in Utah. He did some time in Colorado Springs. He mentioned that world-class training for the highest levels of competition could require 4+ hours per day. Much of that is dry-fire. Are you going for >575 ;) ?