Trigger control under stress

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
Mike S-J

Trigger control under stress

Post by Mike S-J »

Hi guys 'n gals,

A quick 'coaching' question with an explanatory preamble.

Preamble:
I have been shooting 10m AP for 2 yrs now, so have seen a number of changes in my shooting ability and style. I have had several epiphanies and now find myself in a situation where, when I start a competition I have no "physical" nerves - i.e I am not shaking like a wet monkey. However, I have become aware of a new manifestation of nerves (yeah - the ones I thought I had "gotten over"). I just can't pull the trigger - the old smooth sub-conscious release whilst I am concentrating on the alignment turns into what feels like nervous overload in my trigger finger. This is NOT manifest as shaking, or a feeling of anxiety - it actually feels like the trigger pull has been re-adjusted to 10Kg - It was so bad in my last competition that I actually shot a 2! (I average 92 when not under match pressure - i.e. I have no problems shooting competition cards in my club).

So here is the question: Does anyone have any excercises or routines that would enable me to get to grips with this?

BTW - please don't advise me to do more competitions - Assume I have a modicum of intelligence and am shooting as many competitions as I can and have phrased my question accordingly.

Looking forward to hearing your solutions / experiences.
Tiger12

Post by Tiger12 »

I feel your pain!