AP grip (how tight)

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
Stu

AP grip (how tight)

Post by Stu »

I'm just starting out in AP. My backround is NRA 3 gun bulls eye.
My grip has always been as tight as my strength allowed without shake or disturbing sight alignment or trigger pull. Is the same true for AP?

thanks,

Stu
RobStubbs

Post by RobStubbs »

I would say less tight than that would be better, they say like a firm handshake.

Rob.
Lanning R. Hochhauser

Post by Lanning R. Hochhauser »

Think of shaking hands with a six year old child. The hold should be firm enough to show sincerity but not overpowering.

The pistol is really cantilevered between the heel of your hand and your middle finger. The grip of the fingers should be progressively less as you move from the middle finger to your pinky.

Just tight enough to keep a steady sight picture. Remember you do not have to control recoil.
Lanning Hochhauser
Steve Swartz

Post by Steve Swartz »

Good comments from all so far.

One way to look at it:

Strong enough that you have perfect trigger control, but light enough that you don't experience fatigue. With a 500 gram trigger, this should be a "Ginormous" range of appropriate pressures.

Pick the amount of pressure within that range that works for you.

Steve