SHOTS PER GROUP

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

BOOKER

SHOTS PER GROUP

Post by BOOKER »

What is the average number of shots per target when practicing?
I did a search and all that I found was someone who shoos like twenty shots in air pistol.
I use to shoot ten shots, but I don't know is it ok, or should I just shoot like three or five.

Thanks for any help
cdf

Post by cdf »

I'm no expert , but a number of good rifle shots I know shoot 3 , with pistol it's more usually 5-10 .
TWP

Post by TWP »

Depends upon the target, distance, and how good you are.

Real good shooters with air rifle or 50' small bore can put 2 shots so close together it's tough to tell they are 2 shots some times.

It depends upon your training regime, sometimes I have the kids shoot groups, usually 3 or 5 shots per target, other times I want them to practice like they would shoot in a match, 1 shot per bull.
isuguncoach

Post by isuguncoach »

Your note didn't explain if you were doing the shooting or you are coaching someone. If you are coaching some one (a new shooter) stress shooting groups. Don't worry so much about where they are, you just want a group. I have them shoot 5 in a target until you can't see the separate bullet holes. Then move to 3 shots per target just because their getting better. Then move the 3 shot group to the center.

If you shooting, you should be able to get feedback from each shot, if you have shot so many that you can't tell where the last one went, you have shot too many on that target.
Ray Odle

Post by Ray Odle »

What's your goal?

When I practice air pistol working on shot execution I will shoot out the center with thirty shots or more. Where the shot goes isn't as important as what the front sight does when the shot fires. The fact that I may be too lazy to walk down range to change the target won't be discussed.

If my goal is to sight in, then that's a different story.