Air Pistol Training to improve hold time

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
BangBang

Air Pistol Training to improve hold time

Post by BangBang »

Hi, I am new to the shooting scene (if you consider 1 year still new) and recently, thanks to a fellow shooter, I tried the SCATT (spelling with double TT?) and noticed that my hold on the sweet spot lasted only 2-3 seconds.

Can anyone recommend any training programme to improve my hold or is it something I should adapt to?

Thanks
Ed Hall

Post by Ed Hall »

To improve your hold, perform some holding exercises.<smile>

Put a line on a white card and mount that on the wall (oriented vertically) at the proper height for your stance. Align yourself, as you would at a match, just a couple inches from the line. Bring the gun up to the line and hold for a few seconds really concentrating on keeping the front sight divided by the line. After a few times with the vertical line, take a break. When you return, spin the card so the line is horizontal and do the same exercise, this time trying to keep the top of the aligned sights exactly on the line. Let fatigue tell you how long to hold and how many repetitions.

You should discover that the time is increasing, but further, you should also be able to study your overlaying pattern of nulls in your hold. IOW, there will be times when you settle quite still. These times are what you want to discover - both when they occur and how long.

Take Care,
Ed Hall
http://www.airforceshooting.org/
http://www.starreloaders.com/edhall/
BangBang

Post by BangBang »

Hi Ed,