proper way to hold the pistol?

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
bubba_zenetti

proper way to hold the pistol?

Post by bubba_zenetti »

when holding a pistol for olympic style games, should the shooter have his/her arm locked and wrist locked or should it be a relaxed hold? should you stand facing the target dead on or should you stand facing the left with the head tilted to the right? (in the case of a right hand shooter).

forgive the silly questions but i am really new to the whole pistol thing (well not really, but seeing as how these targets are much smaller than a b27 it is really hard to get thing into the 10 ring )
cdf

Post by cdf »

Bubba , stance and grip are somewhat individual . As far as stance goes , start with feet a shoulder width apart prolly 45 degrees with respect to target , check natural point of aim . ( basically , pick up your pistol , bench it , close your eyes - bring it up and see where the sights bear in relation to the target )right and left correction can de achieved by slight foot shuffling . Relax , breath deeply and repeat .

As far as grip goes there are a lot of schools of thought , some old .45 shooters use a white knuckled grip ( with good results ) , most would advocate a firm grip . As a jumping off point , place the pistol in your left hand , open your right hand - place pistol firmly in your right hand . Your groups will give an indication of what you are doing right or wrong .