Juggling the contents of "the box"

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
Mike S-J

Juggling the contents of "the box"

Post by Mike S-J »

OK, as a beginner I have the fun of getting to grips with a hundred different skills whilst still staying relaxed, focussed and sub-conscious. No sweat there! ; )
However, in an earlier post someone made the analogy of a box containing the shooting 'process' and you take bits out and fiddle with them until they are right. I see this and understand how it works conceptually. But here is the problem. As a beginner its hard to know which bit to change and which bit is OK because, at the end of the day, its all drawn back to my average. So, I fiddle with this, feel good about it, have a better 'feel' for the shot, get better at calling it, BUT my average hardly improves. In fact it has got worse since I stopped being "natural" and started adjusting my technique. I am NOT worried about this at all - I am sure my shooting is getting better (in the sense that I am building a much better mental picture of what I am doing). However, how do I know I am getting better? 10,000 shots was mentioned by Steve Swartz. Thats a long time to fiddle about with no real feedback.

I hope experienced people can recognise what my point here is, but let me spell it out.

Is there a specific sequence of skills one should work on and how do you know when you have reached the point of diminshing returns and should move onto the next skill? When should my score start improving?

I accept my naivety is probably blinding, but without a coach in my club I would appreciate any guidance...
RobStubbs

Post by RobStubbs »

Mike,