hot brass down neck

A place to discuss non-discipline specific items, such as mental training, ammo needs, and issues regarding ISSF, USAS, and NRA

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

scottmi

hot brass down neck

Post by scottmi »

Ouch!
i'm new to competitive shooting and at my second league night for international standard pistol, i found myself in the wrong station. two shooters to the left was a walther shooter, and his brass was coming down on my head, shoulders, arms..and even TWO down my collar! (I still have the burn marks--healing.) needless to say, it destroyed my score, especially when got to rapid fire - a veritable rain of burning brass was falling all over me while shooting.

when this kind of thing happens, can i step back and ask for my 5 shots after the line has fired, similar to when a jam occurs? Or ask to be moved on line if room? or just plan on wearing an umbrella hat next week? I ain't going to stay in that kind of position again--wife isn't pleased with scars on neck!
JohnD

Post by JohnD »

There probably isn't much you can do about it, except wear a turtleneck. Every highpower rifle shooter has a story about a 30-06 case down the back. Many pistol ranges have dividers between points that would prevent it. Some are not much more than curtains hanging from rails over the firing points. The curtains can be pushed to the sides of the range when not required. Light masonite or luan dividers on stands can be used as well.

I don't know about your club, but at mine, if you offered to build and install the dividers, the club would buy the materials and set up a work day.

Tell your wife the scars make you look more rugged and manly.
cqbarms

Re: hot brass down neck

Post by cqbarms »