Short shooting. Sorry, don't know what else to call it

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
cc west

Short shooting. Sorry, don't know what else to call it

Post by cc west »

Hello everyone

This is my first post and I'm a complete newb, so plz be kind :) Quick note- Mr. Emmons letter was awe inspiring. Great man and truly makes me proud to be an American! Sure, the Gold Medal is great, but his sportsmanship and class is the true embodiment of the term Champion, in my mind.

I have yet to take the plunge into match shooting, but want to very much. For the last 2 weeks I have been reading posts here and have learned a great deal, (still stupid but gaining on it :). My problem stems from shooting at 10m. I currently have no viable space to set up for 10m, ie. 32.5'. Nor do I have access to a shooting range. My thought is to shorten the field to say 20' or so (sorry, I don't know the meter equivalent off the top of my head) and then reduce the size of my target to fake a 10m setup. I'm no math genius and therefore don't know the formula to use to reduce the target size to correspond, but a friend of mine is and he could figure it out. My concern is that while this could give the illusion of being 10m away from target, the pellet is still 177 in size, and therefore scoring is moot. This may be a lame brain idea for quite a few reasons that I haven't even thought of, but I really want to try this sport out and can't seem to get past that 10m length problem. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.