Center hold for 10m air pistol, Good idea, Bad idea???

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Center hold for 10m air pistol, Good idea, Bad idea???

Post by guest »

I was just wondering wether or not center hold is a viable option or not in 10m air pistol? It seems to make sense to me that there is at least something concrete, the center of the target to aim at? Do any pro's use this or am I way off base trying it? Currenty I'm shooting sub six and trying to remeber how much white was showing when I hit the ten. Any thoughts or hints would help tremendously!

Thanx
Dan Hankins

It may not make any difference

Post by Dan Hankins »

I am not a pro, but I shoot a lot. I have been experimenting with sight picture. I have used sub six, six, and center hold.

What I am seeing is that if you cannot hold the sight picture during the shot, it makes no difference. I have a 5 mm front sight on a Morini and it is wide enough that I have no trouble seeing the sights on the black center. So the center hold poses no problem. I experienced the same problem you mnetioned with the sub six hold. The answere is to hold your sight picture in the center of the blank area, and adjust the POI to match. The center is not too hard to judge. The six o'clock hold is probably the most difficult for me to use. There is absolutely no room for error, and takes a great deal of concentration to make sure there is no part of the black that is covered by the front sight and no light between the black and the front sight.