Am I too old?

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
ChameleonMCP

Am I too old?

Post by ChameleonMCP »

I'm still new to the sport but when looking at websites of clubs in my country that win the competitions they all seem to prefer to train kids instead of adults. Of course it's better to start at a younger age but is there any hope for someone older to get to international competition level? Or is starting young so much of an advantage that it would be almost impossible? I'm 23, I've been shooting for few months and I'm not hiding that I would like to get to a very high level in this sport if possible.
alpineboard

Re: Am I too old?

Post by alpineboard »

Try it and find out. You maybe extremely talented. Shooting is a lifestyle, hang in there and you will see what you can do. IMO, it is convenient for the young to train and pursue this goal, because there are not any other demands on life when you are younger. So if you have the means at 23 and your life is set up so you can shoot, then by all means do it.
KDZ

Post by KDZ »

Joao Costa is a very successful shooter who remained competitive well into his 40s

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jo%C3%A3o ... t_shooter)
-TT-

Post by -TT- »

Gwhite

Post by Gwhite »

Don Nygord shot on the US Olympic team in his 50's, and won a gold medal in the Pan Am Games at 55.

https://www.olympedia.org/athletes/44729
toddinjax

Post by toddinjax »

When you're lying in a casket and somebody closes the lid, you are too old.
Rover

Post by Rover »

Of course you're too old, you doddering wretch. Look how proudly Biden the Ancient serves our country. But then he's special!