Target Pellet Quality

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

kbean

Target Pellet Quality

Post by kbean »

Good morning. I am looking for information on pellet quality in general. I see Champion’s Choice sells H&N, Eley, and RWS. Is one of these considered better quality overall than the rest? Understandably, any given Gun may shoot any given batch better than others, but I’m trying to get an idea of overall consistency and accuracy.
Thanks!
spektr

Re: Target Pellet Quality

Post by spektr »

There are measurable group size differences between the pellets. As an Engineer, I discount the very small differences published, because I don't feel enough pellets have been sampled in enough barrels to prove anything. What we do know is that quality pellets are very consistent and that is what you should be looking at. You can look in the can and tell the difference. Dull dirty pellets that arent always shaped correctly dont go in my gun. They may shoot, they may not, I just wont ever find out...... At the end of the day, I cant hold tight enough to make the very small insignificant measured differences between them matter. Rover very well may be spot on in saying to shoot RWS BASICS. I've shot them they are good. I shoot Vogels because for some reaaon Vogel practice pellets breathed new life into my Daisy777 years ago, and I see no reason to change...... Buy ANY QUALITY LEAD PELLET and shoot a lot of them.............
Rover

Post by Rover »

I have been extremely pleased with RWS Basic pellets, but if someone shows up with JSB Green, you may as well go home.
kbean

Post by kbean »

Any experience shooting air gun outdoors?
I’m thinking of trying some heavier pellets that are not was cutters for wind.
Rover

Post by Rover »

Rover wrote: Tue Mar 16, 2021 12:10 pm I have been extremely pleased with RWS Basic pellets, but if someone shows up with JSB Green, you may as well go home.