Regulated 10m Air Rifles

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

ejcrist

Regulated 10m Air Rifles

Post by ejcrist »

I'm brand new to shooting 10m air rifle. I borrowed another guy's FWB 300 so I could participate, and after my first match last week I kinda got hooked and now I want to get my own rifle and shoot every match. I'm used to shooting Field Target and have a regulated rifle for that. I would think a regulated rifle would be preferable for 10m as well since you're firing 60 shots, and even though an unregulated rifle would be able to cover that in a single fill I'd think you'd lose some velocity over the course which could affect point of impact. A lot of 10m rifles I looked at online appeared to be unregulated but it doesn't specify it in the spec's. The ones that are regulated state it in the descriptions (FWB 800x, etc.). So are most 10m rifles unregulated? If so, wouldn't you be at a disadvantage with an unregulated rifle?
Piefou

Re: Regulated 10m Air Rifles

Post by Piefou »

What do you mean by regulated/unregulated ?

Considering the main match PCP manufacturers (Walther, Fein, Anschutz, Steyr ...), all the rifles shoot the same way.
With a fill, you can shoot ~250/300 pellets, and below ~100/150 bar, velocity starts to decline slowly.
FWB P700 Alu & JSB S100 pellets // Annie 1913 Precise & Eley Sport bullets
Shooterer

Post by Shooterer »

Piefou wrote: Mon Feb 15, 2021 3:23 pm What do you mean by regulated/unregulated ?
https://daystate.com/regulated-pcp/
rmca

Post by rmca »

For serious 10m ISSF shooting forget unregulated rifles.
Anschutz, Feinwerkbau, Walther, Pardini, etc. all have a regulated pcp system.
With a decimal scoring system, you can't afford a shift in POI.

Hope this helps
ejcrist

Post by ejcrist »