How do you keep it fun ?

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
thessler

How do you keep it fun ?

Post by thessler »

Hi
I am pretty new to the sport, shooting bullseye for a year and a half and air pistol for about six months.
In the past I just pick up the gun and shoot for a couple of hours and have a ball. Of course my scores really never improved much . Now I want to get better and am receiving some instructions basically doing the things I know I should have been doing but wasn't. IE dry fire, blank target, holding drill, hand exercise, you guys know the drill. Very little actual shooting. Now it has become work, I realize without work my scores will not improve. To be honest there have been very few smiles on my face when I start a session and I fear I will loose interest in the sport. I hate to sound like I'm whining, just looking for a way to get through the work and still enjoy the sport.
Thanks, Tom
trev

Re: How do you keep it fun ?

Post by trev »

Hang in ther keep doing the training drills and when your scores start to improve the smiles will return but you have to put the hard yards in to reap the rewards.
deadeyedick

Post by deadeyedick »

It might be worth not throwing yourself so deeply into training at this point. Do some dry firing on a blank target but why not use pellets after 5- 10 dry fires to gauge if you are practicing the correct technique.
This will combine work and pleasure easing the monotony of practice only.
Ramon OP

Post by Ramon OP »

Take breaks (weeks), add variation, find what motivates you, stay positive :)
Ramon
rmca

Post by rmca »

Mix dry and live fire.