Winchester 52 D

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

rgibson

Winchester 52 D

Post by rgibson »

I borescoped another fellow's Winchester 52 D the other day. Then I shot it at 100 yards. When I got out of my shooting coat I quickly wrote him a check. I have two questions. !. Are there any out there in Target Talk Land who are old enough to remember the 52 D and maybe shot one? And B. For those of you familiar, is there a spare part or two that you would definitely keep in your kit when traveling to matches with the 52 D; a weak link that you or someone you know has had to replace in a pinch. I am new to the old platform and I like to be prepared. Thanks in advance.
NuJudge

Re: Winchester 52 D

Post by NuJudge »

I got one from the CMP when they had them. The rifles shoot really well, but they are heavy. I would go look at Rim Fire Central's forum on them.
https://www.rimfirecentral.com/forums/f ... .php?f=265
My experience with a 52D is that it needs 1/8 MOA sights, not the 1/4 MOA sights.
My daughter tells me that my Walther KK500 looks like a Nerf gun, but my 52D, that looks like a rifle.
rgibson

Post by rgibson »

May it please the Court,
This one also originally came from the CMP. It is marked U.S. above the serial number. It has the Redfield Palma rear sight and the Olympic front. The fellow competitor who had it is a lefty and said he would never shoot it as he has more modern LH competition rifles. I was really looking for a 52 D or a Rangemaster because they bring back great old memories of my smallbore days in school.

I asked the question about spare parts because i noticed that some parts companies show "out of stock" on a good deal of 52 parts now. Hopefully the "King of .22s" got it's nickname because it never needed spare parts.
Thank you Your Honor!
beye

Post by beye »