Will my age be a problem?

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

Dr Doctor

Will my age be a problem?

Post by Dr Doctor »

Hello! I'll start by introducing myself. My name is Mark, and I'm a college student in my twenties. I'm in pharmacy school right now, but I'm just about to be done!

My question is... If someone is interested in 10m standing air rifle, is age an issue? I've only recently stumbled across this sport, and it really speaks to me. If I wanted to compete at a high level, am I going to be blown away by the kids that have been shooting since they were very young?

I've shot different kinds of rifles in the past. Actual firearms and such, and I've loved it! I'm worried that my competitive nature will be discouraged by younger kids outshooting me. I want to invest wholeheartedly into this sport. I've done my fair share of research and hope that I can learn well.

I've done quite a bit of digging, and I'm looking for my first air rifle now. Thanks guys!
mtncwru

Re: Will my age be a problem?

Post by mtncwru »

Yep, you're going to get beat by 12-year-olds. And you're going to get beat by people in their seventies. And you're going to get beat by girls, both teenage and octogenarian. And by boys of all age groups. And all of that is true no matter YOUR age!

But the truly awesome thing about shooting, though, is that you're never too young to start (well, once you can reach the trigger :-) ), and you're never too old to still compete, if that's what you want to do. The only thing that really matters is the work that YOU put into it, not how long someone else has been at it. Now go call Jim E, get an SSP to start (so you can afford all the other stuff you need in the meanwhile), and start training!
Dr Doctor

Post by Dr Doctor »