SCATT Trainer

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
Nine major

SCATT Trainer

Post by Nine major »

I am sixty nine years old and I am trying to determine what can help me shoot better. I have only 8 yards of distance to practice in so I need to use a reduced target. I have been shooting an air gun for a couple of years. I am expert bullseye shooter, but I can't seem to do as well with my air gun.

I am wondering if I would receive benefits from using a SCATT trainer. If there is anyone out there with experience with the SCATT trainer I would truly appreciate your input.

What specific information would I receive from the SCATT that will help me train better?
What experiences have you had and what benefits have you received?

Thanks!

Best regards,
Jim Smith
Gwhite

Re: SCATT Trainer

Post by Gwhite »

I have a Noptel, which provides similar info.

Electronic training systems can provide a lot of insight into the details of each shot. How long you hold, how steady your hold is, whether you are anticipating or jerking the trigger, etc. All of this takes a bit of study & interpretation of the traces. It's not going to fix anything, only provide clues on what you are doing that may not be apparent without one. Correcting your shot process to eliminate problems is still up to you.

The real value for me is not for air pistol, which I can shoot at 10m at home. The big payoff is that it allows me to practice disciplines I can't shoot at home. I've used it for free pistol and 200 yard offhand centerfire rifle competition with considerable success. The added insight & practice time is great, and it makes dry firing a LOT more fun & interesting.