Advice on scope for silhouettes pistol

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
ShSpLady

Advice on scope for silhouettes pistol

Post by ShSpLady »

Hi - I've been a 4-H Shooting coach for 6 years but this is my first with air pistol. Have a Senior Division kid competing. Went to Nationals in .22 pistol but wants to go in air pistol. We have a Crosman 1701P for silhouette event (NRA Grant). Rules will allow red dot or scope (can't project spot on target). Any advice on what we should use would be appreciated. BTW we have a Baikal IZH 46M for slow fire and are looking at possibly FWB P58 or Steyr LP50 for rapid fire. Really good kid - I want to get him set up right. Thanks!
paw080

Re: Advice on scope for silhouettes pistol

Post by paw080 »

Hi, why don't you see how the kid does with open sights. They do have a class for open sights don't they?

A scope is not necessary to knock down any silhouette target at such close distances.

Tony
Rover

Post by Rover »

True. I had good success with iron sights.

Otherwise...Red Dot. I've had good results with very cheap airgun BSA sights.
ShSpLady

Post by ShSpLady »

Good ideas. We have a cheap red dot and a scope. We'll have him try all ways then let him decide. After all, he needs to be pro-active in this. Thanks. Then if he wants red dot or scope we'll buy quality for the distances.
Rover

Post by Rover »

I guess you didn't read what I said.
Dan Ide

Post by Dan Ide »