Mystique of the S&W Model 52?

Brought to you by Zero Bullet Company Inc.

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, Isabel1130

big mouse

Mystique of the S&W Model 52?

Post by big mouse »

Have read in various sources that the Model 52 has a widely accepted reputation for being a rather "unforgiving" target

pistol. Don't hear of this comment being leveled at any other Bullseye Guns, regardless of their make, model and caliber.

Never fired a 52. Am not in the market for one either. Am curious; just what characteristics or features does this pistol

have that makes it so "unforgiving"? Is it the pistol or the "nut" behind the trigger that's to blame for this gun's

reputation? Model 52 owners: please enlighten me!
Isabel1130

Re: Mystique of the S&W Model 52?

Post by Isabel1130 »

I owned one at one time. Great gun, and fun to shoot. I have a high master friend who shoots one rather well.

I think the biggest problem is the bullet. Those full wadcutter rounds are like a flying beer can. Almost anything can cause the bullet to tip, or not shoot to call. Not enough crimp, too much crimp, damaged base, limp wrist, you name it.
The bullet also travels more slowly, so poor triggering and wrist errors exagerate a bad shot.

This is generally what is meant, I believe, by *unforgiving*.

Other guns let you get away with small errors, and still keep your shots in the black. The Smith doesn't.
Bob-Riegl

Post by Bob-Riegl »