Shooting Glasses Lens Selection

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
dulcmr-man

Shooting Glasses Lens Selection

Post by dulcmr-man »

I'm new to 10m air pistol and I'm thinking about buying a pair of Champion glasses. Do most folks who use these buy a "custom" lens from an optometrist to start with? I see that one can also buy lenses in quarter-diopter increments, i.e., 0.25, 0.5, 0.75, etc. However, I've read that these lenses are intended to compensate for differences in lighting etc., and are intended for use with a basic lens that focuses the eye on the front sight. What's the best way to move forward? Custom lens or a series of standard quarter diopter lenses then experiment? Thanks in advance for your help
Tim S

Re: Shooting Glasses Lens Selection

Post by Tim S »

I've not heard of changing your prescription to compensate for light, but then I'm a rifle shooter. The dioptre of the lens determines your focal distance, which should be independent of light levels. If you buy a custom lens then the optician will take your regular prescription and add correction for your desired focal distance; for rifle shooting this is typically +0.5 (I say typically as it's related to sight radius). My regular prescription is +1.0, so my shooting lens is +1.50. The +.25/.50/.75 lenses will just correct for the right radius, and won't take into account your regular correction.

If you normallyb wear glasses, I'd think about a custom lens.

If you have an astigmatism, then I'd also suggest a custom lens.
Rover

Post by Rover »