Airgun Rapid Fire

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

Forum rules
If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true
podunckshooter

Airgun Rapid Fire

Post by podunckshooter »

I have a 5 shot system in my basement and I'm very new to compressed airguns. I shoot right to left or left to right with similar results which is a tight group on the left target, and a wide group on the right side, no matter which direction I move. My stance is centered, facing the targets using two hands.

I understand I should be shooting 1 handed, but was hoping someone could shed some light on what's happening. My sight picture appears to be the same.

Phil,
mctrucky

Re: Airgun Rapid Fire

Post by mctrucky »

Ok, first start by shooting single handed on the middle target. Get a comfortable stance and get so you are grouping precision shots fairly well in the middle of the target. Two hands is easier, but if you want to shoot rapid fire, learn to do it properly so you don't have to re-learn if you ever want to compete.

Then keeping your feet in the same place, and maintaining the same shoulder/arm/head position try twisting left and right to swing through the other targets. You should be aligning on the middle target so that the twist to left and right is the same on both sides to reach the outside target.