to clean or not to clean

A place to discuss non-discipline specific items, such as mental training, ammo needs, and issues regarding ISSF, USAS, and NRA

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

IZZY14

to clean or not to clean

Post by IZZY14 »

My question is when to do a complete tear down cleaning on my bullseye pistol
I'm told not until it begins to fowl
I am from a military background and am used to complete cleaning after each use
Also cleaning the bore, I understand some don't clean the bore the entire season
Doesn't cleaning everything extend the life of the parts
This is my first year shooting a pistol and bullseye matches is my average of 490 decent for a beginner
I am also on my 4th different pistol this year
I started with a S&W 22A, then ruler 22/45, then Marvel Conversion, and now a Bikal IZH 35M
thanks
lakesidemn

Post by lakesidemn »

I started Bullseye 3 yrs ago and was in the low 500's and now I'm in the low 800's, so don't worry about your score - it will improve with practice. I do think it helps staying with one gun for a while. Getting use to the grip and trigger pull is most of the challenge, so once you have that the scores will come.

As for cleaning, I have seen guys (High Master shooters BTW) clean their guns between matches and always at home after a match. I have heard from non-bullseye shooters they don't clean .22's until they foul (like you said). Since you can't get any better than High Master, I would go with their advice - clean often and keep it oiled until it drips.

Best of luck and enjoy the Progress - no such thing as Perfection with this sport!
RobStubbs

Post by RobStubbs »