Advice please (handiness and eye domiance)

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

conradin

Advice please (handiness and eye domiance)

Post by conradin »

As you ALL know I know NOTHING about rifles. I jsut recently purchased a Haemmerli AR20, for the pure purposes of learning posture, holding, aim, etc. I don't really care if I really shoot it or not.

I am an AP and FP shooter, right hand, right non dominant eye. I always set my trigger weight at featherlight (never more than 5g on FP, and 400g first stage at AP). I have no intention of learning any other type of pistol. I do not know how to operate a semi-automatic. Revolver is my fun toys, but I never use them for competition, maybe just for tin shots.

Since i have no experience whatsoever in rifle, I have a question.
My dominant eye is left, and the dominance is major. I cannot shoot pistol without at least +1.5 lens, while my left eye is as clear as a telescope. I learned to shoot right on pistol only because all the pistol I found was right handed.

Now I have a chance to shoot left. I wonder if it is wise to learn to shoot left, since I have NO muscle memory at all. Misses showed me how do you pull a trigger on a rifle, and it has NOTHING to do with a FP or AP trigger pull. The only problem I find is my right forearm needs to be stronger, while if I shoot right, there is less strength problem.

I do not intend to buy iris or other lens to make up for the tiny murkiness of using my right eye. I want to keep my AR20 as simple as possible. I treat it no more than a dummy with the ability to shoot sometimes.

Essentially the question is, should I shoot right hand before I feel comfortable holding the trigger, or left handed with absolutely no problem aiming the front sight (three times the length of my FP). If I choose to shoot right handed, will I have a chance to screw up my muscle memory, while if I shoot left, there is no chance of screwing it up?