I "cant" fight it anymore!

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

EricP

I "cant" fight it anymore!

Post by EricP »

I have been shooting NRA prone for about two years now. I feel I have been fighting a natural tendency to cant the rifle to the left ( I am right handed) the whole time. I guess initially I thought that it was a position flaw that needed to be corrected. The fact is that when I try to hold the rifle perfectly vertical my position feels weak and wants to fall to the right and I my neck has a lot of tension in it to get my head behind the sights.

After watching footage of some World Cup and Olympic matches I noticed that a lot of the top shooters cant the rifle. So I assume it is an acceptable prone position.

My hold in prone is pretty good but think the movement in my hold comes from the tension in my neck. I experimented yesterday with a telescopic sight with about a 10 degree cant and my hold benefited greatly. My neck was less tense and my position felt much more solid.

I am concerned now about how to repeat the same amount of cant throughout a match. With a scope I have decided to just turn the scope in the rings so the crosshairs are level when I cant the rifle. My question is what to do when I shoot metallic sights. I do not want to use a spirit level since it is prohibited.

What are others ways canting shooters verify cant angle without using a level?

I know I do not shoot ISSF competitions but for some reason I feel like I should at least play by those rules. With the exception of when I shoot with a scope all my equipment is ISSF legal. Same reason I play by all the rules in golf even though I am not on the PGA.
David Levene

Re: I "cant" fight it anymore!

Post by David Levene »

EricP wrote:II do not want to use a spirit level since it is prohibited.

What are others ways canting shooters verify cant angle without using a level?