Bullet Selecttion - Swaged vs Cast

Brought to you by Zero Bullet Company Inc.

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, Isabel1130

TomJ

Bullet Selecttion - Swaged vs Cast

Post by TomJ »

I am relatively new to bullseye competition. I competed in 2700 matches last year shooting my Model 41 for all the events. I've purchased a Dave Salyer wadgun, Dillon 550, and in the process of buying components. Is there a difference between swaged and cast bullets as far as leading? I'm trying to decide between buying from Zero (swaged) and Magnus (cast) and would appreciate your comments. I'm looking at shooting a 200 gr. SWC for both shot and long line events. Thanks
Tom
Ernie Rodriguez

Swaged or cast

Post by Ernie Rodriguez »

Tom-if used at target velocities most lead bullets won't cause leading.I have used both brands and they are accurate. I might say the swaged bullets are SLIGHTLY more accurate possibly due to the tighter weight variations and possibly -being softer-faster obturation characteristics.I consider a 200gr/45 cal slug easier to obtain excellent accuracy at 50 yds probably because minor imperfections in the bullet have less effect on a heavier bullet over a lighter weight bullet.The H&G #68 shaped heads seem to produce a good compromise between reliable functioning and accuracy. You can't do better than a Dave Salyer built pistol. IMO....of course
GunRunner

Post by GunRunner »

The 200 swc from magnus is a excellet bullet, i shoot them at 50 yds with 4.1 gr of bullseye powder. 3.8 will work nicely at 25
bruce em

Post by bruce em »

Swaged are top quality at 50 yard sif you load them correctly; not on Dillon dies

See Bullseye list article 32 and swaged...

regards
Isabel1130

Post by Isabel1130 »

It really depends on your gun, and loads. I use Zero swaged LHP 185g at the 50 yard line. I shoot the Valiant 160g cast wadcutters at the 25 yard line.