smallbore - open sights and position

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

clamdigger

smallbore - open sights and position

Post by clamdigger »

I have been shooting NRA smallbore for about 6 years and am using an Anschutz 1913 with a 6805 rear sight. I have a couple of issues I would like advice with. I am 51 years old, have been myopic since I was 15 and now need to use reading glasses in the last three years.

I am starting to do well with scope, but with open sights, I am terribly inconsistent. It feels like my eye is not lined up with the rear sight or I am looking through it at an angle. The rear aperature never looks round, but more like a half moon at times. I have considered getting some sight blocks so that I can raise the cheekpiece to the same height as when I shoot with my scope and get my head more square to the sights. But then I realize have to watch for any canting. Or perhaps it is my glasses which is an old pair of trap shooting glasses I bought 7-8 years ago. Not sure what to do for glasses with someone with my vision.

At one match, I accidently left my normal cheekpiece at home and had to fashion one out of a buttplate carrier and an extra cheekpiece from another competitor. I had my best open sight score ever. That was probably due to no movement in the checkpiece at all and it is felt very hard against my cheek.

Last question. What is the best source of information for adjusting your rifle to get your best position. I do have 'Ways of the Rifle' but it does seem to tell you what to do if you first start shooting and get a new rifle. Give me a simple sequence for setting my the rifle for a good position.
NMC_EXP

Post by NMC_EXP »

Here is a link to an article by German Salazar (distinguished small bore prone) regarding setting up a rifle. In this case it is an Eliseo tube gun but the sections regarding how to position the rear sight and cheek rest should apply to the Anschutz.