How eye focus works for pistol shooters

A place to discuss non-discipline specific items, such as mental training, ammo needs, and issues regarding ISSF, USAS, and NRA

If you wish to make a donation to this forum's operation , it would be greatly appreciated.
https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/targettalk?yours=true

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, David Levene, Spencer, Richard H

ShootingSight

How eye focus works for pistol shooters

Post by ShootingSight »

Brand new to the site, so I thought I should introduce myself. My name is Art Neergaard, I never shot competitive pistol, but I am a Service Rifle shooter, so I’m not a novice to the concepts of sight alignment.

I'm a mechanical engineer, photographer, I studied optical physics as part of my engineering degree, but never really worked in the field as a profession. Over 50 years old, presbiopic, can't see the front sight anymore, so I looked at the optics of apertures and lenses to figure out what the optics in your eye ought to do, and why they don’t anymore. Eventually, I developed a couple of products to help shooters see better, and aim better, and started a small company that I run in the evenings and weekends, ShootingSight LLC, to sell these for Service Rifle use. To be clear: I am not an eye doctor. I know nothing of eye diseases, and I cannot diagnose. But I do know optical physics, and I understand lenses from a mathematical formula perspective, so I can offer insights that sometimes an eye doctor cannot.