Model 52 leading question

Brought to you by Zero Bullet Company Inc.

Moderators: pilkguns, m1963, Isabel1130

RandomShotz

Model 52 leading question

Post by RandomShotz »

I have been trying to shoot a Model 52 on a budget and reloading is not an option in my apartment. I've tried a couple of remanufactured loads. I have no prior experience by which to judge, but I think that this last batch is leading excessively. I cleaned the barrel until it was absolutely clean and mirror bright and used it yesterday for just 30 rounds. Attached are the before and after pix. The second shot was taken after I pushed a brush and patch though it to knock off the loose debris, so I assume most of what's left is lead. Is it excessive? Also, should I be concerned about the crud buildup along the front of the chamber?

Thanks

Roger
Attachments
IMG_4457_mod.JPG
IMG_4457_mod.JPG (23.42 KiB) Viewed 5894 times
IMG_4427.JPG
IMG_4427.JPG (24.89 KiB) Viewed 5894 times
Misny

Post by Misny »

Looks like lead to me. The charge is probably too heavy. Switch ammo manufacturers. Zero ammo is very good. You can find reman .38 SPL hbwc ammo on their website: http://www.rozedist.com/mm5/merchant.mv ... e=ZBA-38SP
RandomShotz

Post by RandomShotz »

Misny:

Thanks for the reply. Yeah, it's lead. It took me over a half hour to get it out with a bore brush and lead removing cloth. The stuff in the chamber was the most resistant, and that worries me a bit.

The ammo you recommended is listed as WCDE, which I assume means wad cutter double ended. I've been shooting HBWC which seems to be the most popular bullet used in this gun. Zero also offers HB rounds (with a $3/50 premium over the DE) so I may try those next.

Even if another brand is somewhat cleaner, should I still expect to have a vigorous cleaning session after every outing? If I have to spend almost as much time cleaning as shooting, I may just set this gun aside until I can start reloading my own.

Roger
Rover

Post by Rover »