Prone question...

Moderators: pilkguns, Marcus, m1963, David Levene, Spencer

honeybunz

Prone question...

Post by honeybunz »

what is the best position for smallbore prone?? (50ft) high, low in between?
EricP

Post by EricP »

I am pretty new to this sport but let me share what I have learned over the past year working on my prone position.

I have experimented with a high and a low sling position. Also have tried several handstop positions that ultimately changes the angle of your support arm. Trying to copy a "good" shooters position has in many cases resulted in me trying to use a position that just didn't work with my body.

If you watch footage of olympic level shooters you will notice a huge difference in position, but they all are using their bodies the most affective way they can.

I have found that International Rifle Guide prepared by the USAMU and distributed by the CMP provides very good information about the characteristics that a solid prone position must have.

EricP
honeybunz

Post by honeybunz »

i forgot to specify that i wasnt sure about the position of the buttplate....
Dave IRL

Post by Dave IRL »

They all work, is the only useful answer. You have to figure out what's comfortable for you, suits your build and style of shooting, and train like hell at it. There aren't any magic solutions to make it easier, unfortunately, and that's going to be a constant. They all have trade-offs too. High positions place more pressure on the elbows. Tights sling setups cause more discomfort in the support hand. I use both, and need to train my tempo ruthlessly in order to maintain focus and minimise my discomfort over time, without compromising the efficiency and accuracy of the process. Low positions never really suited me, but they work for others well enough. Just have to play around with everything really.
Durkee Atwood

Re: Prone question...

Post by Durkee Atwood »